Casa Schuck history
This famous hacienda originally named the “Schuck House” then changed to “Casa Schuck” in the 80’s was originally built in 1871 and was restored to its original splendor 1968 by the team of Dotty Vidargas and her architect son Ricardo, as a grand scaled private villa for Charles and Gladys Schuck, who came to San Miguel in 1957 from Westport, Connecticut. Casa Schuck became their winter home originally, but after their passing, it was transformed into San Miguel’s first luxury bed & breakfast in 1978. Upon opening the hacienda to the public, it was first managed by Nancy Schuck Cordelli, their daughter until 2001, then upon the retirement of Nancy, Charles Easter & Susan Cordelli Easter took over the reins. Chuck and Susan met in New York City while working in Manhattan and their history of travel, enjoying life and family started here. They both moved permanently to San Miguel in 2001, after their wedding celebration with friends and family in San Miguel at Casa Schuck on September 1st. Following their unforgettable wedding came the attacks in NYC on September 11th and the world was forever changed.
People say we are one of the most unique places to stay. We offer an intimate, luxurious environment in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. Come see for yourself, rest and relax in our grand colonial Mexican style and charm with modern amenities. We are just three blocks from the city center, restaurants, stores, shops, galleries, and all the action San Miguel inspires — a place where Susan, Charles, and the spirit of Gladys and Charles Schuck will treat you like family. Their events and weddings have been featured in many publications over the years including : NY Times, Washington Post, Brides, Travel & Leisure, Architectural Digest, Fiancee, Cream and many blogs and travel article